2. Chapter Two

1350 Words
Chapter Two Rian Not looking at Natalie’s sister all night f*****g killed me. I’d helped Jordan do a full background check on the younger woman a few years earlier, learned all her secrets, her vices, her tics. A promiscuous party animal, an abuser of the vodka on the rocks in my hand. A wild soul, broken by the loss of parents, who had filled the void with alcohol and men. She was f*****g gorgeous. Long, silky hair, dark as night. Light brown eyes and a spatter of freckles over her nose. For the wedding, she’d painted on smoky eyes that hardened my d**k, and the red staining on her lips kept me aching all goddamn night since I’d seen her walk down the runner between chairs acting as the aisle leading to the archway where Jordan awaited Natalie. Luna stood beyond the tent, in the shadows outside society, as though she felt she didn’t belong. She didn’t—wouldn’t—in most of their eyes, but neither did I. While I was an FBI agent in the Laurents’ back pocket, I was also good friends with Adam Laurent and his two friends who made up JAG Industries, the cybersecurity company who happened to toss me anonymous fraud tips. The only reason for the invite. f**k knew I didn’t drown in gold coins like the rest of them. Awareness of the woman I’d fantasied about for two years—and had been ordered to ignore—raised the hair on my nape. Barely legal hadn’t stopped me from going after a woman before, but Jordan was like a brother to me. He knew me well. Too well. Out of honor for my friend, I’d feigned disinterest all damn night, watching her in my periphery rather than outright stare like I’d wanted to, letting her see the l**t in my eyes. Letting her see exactly what I wanted to do with those lush curves hidden behind a hideous dress. That strange energy I’d felt whenever she passed nearby tingled my fingertips again, and I turned. Natalie all but pulled Luna toward me in a pile of tulle and silk, one a fluff ball of white, the other wrapped in a horrid